Click the link below to see the new game I'm developing!

Photo
* * * - - 1 votes

Existence of PRO IV

17 replies to this topic

#1 Rajeev

Rajeev

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 24 posts

Posted 18 March 2008 - 01:57 PM

Hi All PRO IV experts,
Just wanted to know for how many more years will PRO IV exists........ i heard few saying that PRO IV will extinct bcoz of new languages dominating in the market. Then wht wil happen to the existing customer and existing PRO IV developers????????? Kindly give your opinion!!!!!!!!!!!! Thank you in advance

#2 andykay

andykay

ProIV Guru

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 204 posts

Posted 18 March 2008 - 03:05 PM

I've been hearing the same thing for the past 10 years :p ...

When will it ever end :rolleyes: !?!?!?

AK
THE LIGHT AT THE END OF THE TUNNEL IS THE HEADLAMP OF THE TRAIN THAT'S ABOUT TO HIT YOU!!!

#3 Chris Pepper

Chris Pepper

ProIV Guru

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 369 posts

Posted 18 March 2008 - 03:13 PM

You must realise that this question has been repeatedly asked for many years.
Programming languages hang around for a long time, much longer that you would think.
If you are a young programmer then I would not advise learning ProIV (or Mumps or Dibol or COBOL or FORTRAN or ALgol68) as the main focus of your career; but I'm 50+ and fully expect to be writing ProIV until I retire.
If there is a system in at a company, and it's written in ProIV, and it works then it's not going to be replaced overnight. Lots of application systems have a 10, 20 or even 30 year lifespan. People are still developing code in ProIV, and still maintaining code in it, it basically works so it's not going to go away suddenly.
I think there will be fewer systems out there, and fewer developers but I wouldn't be suprised if there was still ProIV code running in 20 years time! ...after all we still get posts on here from people trying to upgrade systems written in really old versions!

#4 DARREN

DARREN

ProIV Guru

• Members