Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Tomcat and Apache


9 replies to this topic

#1 Vol Yip

Vol Yip

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 393 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hong Kong

Posted 02 July 2005 - 04:55 AM

Hi,

Does anyone familiar with Tomcat and Apache?

I have installed Tomcat version 3.3.2
I have installed Apache version 1.3.33
I have installed J2RE version 1.4.2_04

When I start a browser and go to http:\\localhost:80\index.html

The Tomcat page start, everything looks fine.

When I click the Example link, the servlet examples work fine.

However, the JSP examples seem don't work :eek: when I go into the JSP example, I hit 500 error .

Any help will be appreciated if you can guide me how to check why the JSP doesn't work.

I actually trying to install eAccess of Glovia which use PROIV bus and task.

After the above installation, I can start the eAcess login screen, key in id and password but cannot login :ermm:

#2 Matthews Estrice

Matthews Estrice

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 241 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Henley-on-klip

Posted 04 July 2005 - 06:48 AM

Hi ..

Since you want to run JSP,JSP generates servlets ever time you execute that servlet.
Therefore you need to install JSDK and its run time environment and configure the PATH and the CLASSPATH as per the readme of the JSDK.
Make sure that the servlet.jar files is also pointed to by theCALSSPATH.Make that the JSPs are on the right directory on the webserver.

Please shout if you have any problems.

Matthews

#3 Vol Yip

Vol Yip

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 393 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hong Kong

Posted 04 July 2005 - 03:24 PM

Hi,

Thanks for reply.

Is this "The J2SE Software Development Kit (SDK)" The J2SE Software Development Kit (SDK) the correct software which I shall install?

The J2RE is not enough then?

Regards,

Vol

#4 Matthews Estrice

Matthews Estrice

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 241 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Henley-on-klip

Posted 05 July 2005 - 07:03 AM

Hi ...

When you install J2SDK the installation process may display to you the checkboxes to install JRE, make sure that the checkbox is ticked.

#5 Matthews Estrice

Matthews Estrice

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 241 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Henley-on-klip

Posted 05 July 2005 - 07:11 AM

Hi ...

When you install J2SDK the installation process may display to you the checkboxes to install JRE, make sure that the checkbox is ticked.
Below is the configuration on the server.This gaurentees you that your servlets environment is fine.
NB:- Take care of the version of your J2SDK AND JDK.To make sure on type 'java -version' on DOS or LINUX,this will tell you the version of the environment you are using.

(CLASSPATH)
.E:\j2sdk1.4.1_03\bin;E:\j2sdk1.4.1_03\lib;E:\j2sdk1.4.1_03\jre;E:\j2sdk1.4.1_03;E:\jdk1.3;E:\jdk1.3\bin;E:\jdk1.3\lib;E:\jdk1.3\include;E:\Program Files\Motorola\Browser ADK 2.2.2-E1000;E:\Data;E:\jdk1.3.1_01\lib\tools.jar

(PATH)
E:\j2sdk1.4.1_03\bin;E:\jdk1.3;E:\jdk1.3\bin;E:\jdk1.3\lib;E:\jdk1.3\include;E:\j2sdk1.4.1_03\bin;

You could place you JSP on your directory like below :-
E:\Program Files\Apache Group\Tomcat 4.1\webapps\examples\jsp\

Please come back if you don't come ritght.
Please give the error you are getting.

Regards,
Matthews

#6 Vol Yip

Vol Yip

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 393 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hong Kong

Posted 05 July 2005 - 02:59 PM

The tomcat and apache works now. Thanks for your help.

The remaining part is to make Glovia eAccess works :)

#7 Matthews Estrice

Matthews Estrice

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 241 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Henley-on-klip

Posted 06 July 2005 - 07:48 AM

Hi,

I have not seen Glovia yet,but I used VIP, DEV STUDIO.
I use Webclient3's web services to call the .PIV, but I will then occupy a sit on PROIV.
If I use Concerto Application server, I would used Xoology's servlet container via B&T which it is slow for me through the JAVA .OCX.

Through Jetty and Apache Tomcat I can write J2EE applications and I can do as much without comming closer to PROIV.

If Glovia uses B&T then you can use Concerto Application server.
If you want to occupy a sit on PRO4, then you can use PROIV Webclient.

Currently I have PROIV Webclient3 services and Apache-Tomcat running. Webclient3 running PROIV on web no B&Ts, and TOMCAT running J2EE.
In addition on that I can even have CLOBs and BLOBs on J2EE, as they not supported by PROIV.That was my resolution.

Regards,

#8 Vol Yip

Vol Yip

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 393 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hong Kong

Posted 06 July 2005 - 08:56 AM

Wow, I wish I could learn all these from you. :)

My limited Java knowledgement makes me difficult to answer your questions :p

Anyway, thanks for you help. I have finished the installation and most of the modules are working fine now.

I still believe if I know more about information which you have mentioned, then I will have more options and tools to deal with customers' problems.

How do you recommend me to start with?

Regards,

Vol

#9 Matthews Estrice

Matthews Estrice

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 241 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Henley-on-klip

Posted 06 July 2005 - 01:20 PM

Hi,
1. create table called (brokers)
2. table variables (brk_code = char(2),brk_alpha char(30))
3. define your Domain Name Server name = (jseexchange)
4. Save the code from to as (yip.jsp) and save it in you jsp directory.
5. Make an html file called (yol.htm) which has 'brk_code' and 'brk_alpha', and the form action=yip.jsp.
This is your input screen.
This is a simple way of starting off.
You are welcome to email me on matthewse@hotmail.com for further attachments.
I can give the professional way of coding JSPs and Servlets,EJBs and Web Services.

Well done!!!!!

Regards,
Matthews



Add a Broker

<%@ page language="java" import="java.sql.*" %>



<%
String iCode = request.getParameter("brk_code");
String iAlfcode = request.getParameter("brk_alpha");

Class.forName("sun.jdbc.odbc.JdbcOdbcDriver");
Connection myConn = DriverManager.getConnection ("jdbc:odbc:jseexchange","userid","password");

Statement stmt = myConn.createStatement();
int rowsAffected = stmt.executeUpdate("insert into jseexchange.brokers " +
" (brk_code,brk_alpha) values('" + iCode + "','" + iAlfcode + "' )");
if (rowsAffected == 1)
{
%>

Successful Addition of Broker


Thank you for Adding a new Broker.
<% }
else
{
%>

Sorry, Addition as failed


Go bak to control center
<%
}
// stmt.close();
myConn.close();
%>



#10 Matthews Estrice

Matthews Estrice

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 241 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Henley-on-klip

Posted 06 July 2005 - 01:25 PM

Hi..

I tried to paste the JSP coding for you and I discovered that is in the www.proivrc.com page.
Please email me on matthewse@hotmail.com.

Regards,
Matthews



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users