v6.2 function keys

9 replies to this topic

#1 Paul Taylor

Paul Taylor

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts

Posted 10 November 2016 - 12:56 PM

I am new to proiv and am looking at using function keys, is there a way to use undefined function keys, I am using v6.2 also if there is good tech docs that wouls be helpful as well.

Thank you

#2 DARREN

DARREN

ProIV Guru

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 396 posts

Posted 10 November 2016 - 03:49 PM

Yes there is Paul. It is the primary method for defining events e.g. click a button/icon and then go do something.

The PROIV support documents are a bit cryptic but go to the following support website and search for topic 500167.

http://support.proiv...cumentation.htm

Programmer defined function keys run from 33 to 132 on version 6 (33 to 240 on version 8). They are defined at the cycle level (each cycle has its own set of 33 to 132) but !!! they can inherit down i.e. an inner cycle can 'inherit' the function keys of the parent/calling cycle if they are not overwritten at the child cycle level.

Making the assumption that you are using PROIV developer (VIP), open/create a screen function and navigate to statics. Define an icon/button and click on the Events tab within the properties. Enter a user-defined function key e.g. 33 and click on the function key icon to the right of the input. This will open up a function key properties dialogue. Select an action type e.g. Local Logic and define a suitable logic e.g. UMSG('hello world',-1). Gen and run.

Things should be made as simple as possible, but not simpler

#3 Paul Taylor

Paul Taylor

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts

Posted 14 November 2016 - 01:13 PM

Sorry didn't mention I am using the "green screen" env. to dev.

#4 DARREN

DARREN

ProIV Guru

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 396 posts

Posted 14 November 2016 - 02:56 PM

And what 'client' does your run time application present in i.e. Windows GUI (PROIV Windows Client) or Green Screen.

#5 Paul Taylor