Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Batch Update and Windows Environment


7 replies to this topic

#1 Lewis Mccabe

Lewis Mccabe

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 455 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sarasota, Florida

Posted 09 July 2014 - 08:34 PM

Hello All,

 

We have a function we want to call within a Windows PROIV MFC session. We want to kick off the update behind the scenes while the customer continues their data entry. We were told this cannot be done in Windows. I see that Developer (VIP) seems to do it. Anyone have an answer? Thanks

Lew



#2 Wim Soutendijk

Wim Soutendijk

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 211 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 10 July 2014 - 05:19 AM

Never used that feature, but you can try to enable it by setting the batchq id in the spooler tab of the update function



#3 DARREN

DARREN

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 396 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida,USA

Posted 10 July 2014 - 05:49 PM

Another option would be to have your U.I. write to a table/file and have a seperate watch process monitor the same and invoke a Gateway/Webservice.


Things should be made as simple as possible, but not simpler

#4 Lewis Mccabe

Lewis Mccabe

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 455 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sarasota, Florida

Posted 10 July 2014 - 10:46 PM

Batch ID can only be used for non global functions. We tried. I know PROIV Developer saves logics behind the scene. Anyone know how they do it?



#5 Chris Mackenzie

Chris Mackenzie

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 368 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bristol, United Kingdom

Posted 12 July 2014 - 12:08 AM

Batch ID can only be used for non global functions. We tried. I know PROIV Developer saves logics behind the scene. Anyone know how they do it?

 

why is that a problem?   you wrap the required globals in a non-global Update and set that to run in batch.

 

BTW - what reason were you given for batch queue not working in Windows?

 

Someone suggested


The content and views expressed in this message are those
of the poster and do not represent those of any organisation.

#6 Lewis Mccabe

Lewis Mccabe

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 455 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sarasota, Florida

Posted 15 July 2014 - 11:37 PM

The reason we want to have a global update run in batch is because the user is in the middle of the order header function when we want to run this global function (an item price update). The user still has some data entry to complete when we have enough information to fire off the update. It will take them another 5 seconds or so to complete the header screen - about enough time to complete the global update. We would like the item price update to run during this time so to the user, it appears the items are all priced by the time they move from the header to the detail. Currently we have to wait until they finish the header screen (global) and then fire off the global item price update prior to presenting the items in the order detail function. It does not seem like much but when a user is entering 400 orders, it slows him/her down considerably - to the tune of a half hour, or more, of waiting.

 

Batch works fine in windows when a non global function is called. In UNIX we would simply call PROIV from the command level and problem solved. We are told this cannot be done in Windows.



#7 Chris Mackenzie

Chris Mackenzie

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 368 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bristol, United Kingdom

Posted 16 July 2014 - 01:00 PM

? why not refactor -   set @LFUNCT FNEXIT and then re-enter to where you were in your main function after calling your update..


Edited by Chris Mackenzie, 16 July 2014 - 01:01 PM.

The content and views expressed in this message are those
of the poster and do not represent those of any organisation.

#8 Lewis Mccabe

Lewis Mccabe

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 455 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sarasota, Florida

Posted 16 July 2014 - 09:30 PM

Refactoring is not an option. Highly optimized functions which are complex. We also don't like the UI under those circumstances. As we were developing them, we never in a million years thought we would not be able to kick off a PROIV session in Windows the way we always had in UNIX. Thanks though.





Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users