Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Aurora


14 replies to this topic

#1 Steve Houghton

Steve Houghton

    Advanced

  • Validating
  • PipPipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted 05 September 2012 - 03:50 PM

We have been developing our finance systems using Pro-IV with Aurora over the past 15 months - have a look at our video on www.expressasolutions.com

Steve Houghton

#2 DARREN

DARREN

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 396 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida,USA

Posted 05 September 2012 - 09:52 PM

Very nice Steve. We are just starting down the Aurora path. We have spent a couple of days amending the stub tasks and associated functions to link in with our security model. We have done very little work on the style sheets and appearance but I thought i would post some screen shots anyway.The split screen feature is very cool.

Attached Thumbnails

  • PPSAuroraCascadingMenus.png
  • PPSAuroraMaileeAndPolicyScreens.png

Things should be made as simple as possible, but not simpler

#3 Rob Fantini

Rob Fantini

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 267 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Haverhill, United States

Posted 06 September 2012 - 01:38 AM

What operating systems are you currently using?



The videos and screenshots are cool!

#4 Steve Houghton

Steve Houghton

    Advanced

  • Validating
  • PipPipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted 06 September 2012 - 12:28 PM

Hi Rob

Windows 2008 on the server and Windows 7 on the notebooks - using Firefox, Chrome and Safari browsers.

Regards
Steve



#5 DARREN

DARREN

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 396 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida,USA

Posted 06 September 2012 - 02:39 PM

We are on Linux as the server o/s using chrome, I.E. and firefox
Things should be made as simple as possible, but not simpler

#6 Rob Fantini

Rob Fantini

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 267 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Haverhill, United States

Posted 06 September 2012 - 07:05 PM

We've been using green screen pro4 since the 90's . Our pro4 is Version : 4.6000 Revision : 2.1.3
I know we'd have to go through a few pro4 upgrades to get to version 7.

If we did that what are the main differences in writing and maintaining pro4 code?


And how steep is the learning code for using Auora?

I know those are really general questions.

#7 DARREN

DARREN

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 396 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida,USA

Posted 06 September 2012 - 09:31 PM

Rob

Take a look at the following topic first

http://www.proivrc.c...4087&hl=browser

I would describe Aurora as an application framework in that it can wrap a multitude of disparate applications and/or controls together to form a unified interface. We hooked our PROIV application into it (security and menus) within two days. If you are familiar with CSS then you can make the Aurora framework and the Open Client (your PROIV application) look pretty slick without to much effort. The dashboard controls (the pie charts etc) that are on Steve's app are written in JavaScript but Aurora ships with several demo components that allow you to understand how they are called and constructed.

As far as PROIV development goes between 4.6 and 7, there is no comparison (I am assuming that you are probably still using @MODX or Pro-ADE etc.) There is a learning curve when switching to Developer (VIP as it used to be know) but once you have learned where all the controls are and what they do then the productivity gains are significant.

Remember that with Aurora you are not invoking a PROIV session until you click on a menu item (in our case) that starts a screen (or report etc) and your PROIV app can interact with other controls within Aurora and vice-verse.
Things should be made as simple as possible, but not simpler

#8 Rob Fantini

Rob Fantini

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 267 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Haverhill, United States

Posted 06 September 2012 - 09:54 PM

Do you do your development using the PROIV Client ? If not how?

#9 Steve Houghton

Steve Houghton

    Advanced

  • Validating
  • PipPipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted 07 September 2012 - 08:28 AM

Hi Rob

Yes the development is done using the Windows Client and run-time is always Aurora. We will only make our systems available using Aurora so we are totally web based. I do spend time testing using Firefox, Chrome and Safari browsers.

You will leave behind the 24 rows and 80 columns of 'green' screen space and start using GUI and Windows styling. It is a big step forward. You can use Jasper or Crystal for reporting (depending on your database) although we use Excel using Northgate's SSO (Server Side Object). We create Excel spreadsheets from mostly from logic in global update functions. It is fast and reliable. We also use Open Office.

So I would recommend that you start using Aurora soon

Best of luck

Steve Houghton




#10 Rob Fantini

Rob Fantini

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 267 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Haverhill, United States

Posted 07 September 2012 - 07:30 PM

Hell Steve Houghton

Exporting to spreadsheet format is a very attractive feature.


When you wrote "development is done using the Windows Client" I assume you mean 'Pro4 Client' ? As most of our desktops use Ubuntu or Debian .


I've some more questions ,

Regarding licensing count:: if a user has more then one browser tab or window opened, does that count for one license used or multiple ?


Would be able to use putty or other command line connections to use green screen?


thanks
Rob

#11 Steve Houghton

Steve Houghton

    Advanced

  • Validating
  • PipPipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted 08 September 2012 - 09:10 AM

Hi Rob

I have used Pro-IV to create Excel spreadsheets since 2004 when we used version 5.5. Use DDE calls to create a spreadsheet on a windows client. The DDE calls still work in version 7 but not when using Aurora. Northgate released their SSO to create Excel spreadsheets with version 7. It is quicker and more reliable than using DDE calls and it creates the Excel spreadsheet on the server and you need to use the CLIENT.SEND feature to move the file to your windows desktop. Another option is to create CSV files from Pro-IV and use Open Office to read them. Works very well too. I don't have any experience of using Linux on a desktop.

Yes when I refer to the Windows Client I do mean the Pro4 Client. I am not sure about the license issues you mention.

Version 7 does not support 'Green Screen' and Aurora has to be run through a browser. Why would anybody want 'Green Screens' in 2012?

Kind regards
Steve



#12 Rob Fantini

Rob Fantini

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 267 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Haverhill, United States

Posted 08 September 2012 - 02:42 PM

Version 7 does not support 'Green Screen' and Aurora has to be run through a browser. Why would anybody want 'Green Screens' in 2012?


We have a bread factory. In the plant we've 12+- green screens.

At the 3 packaging machines the screens for 2 shifts need just one pro4 screen program. The operator types in the product code and then the program displays the different ways that product needs to be packaged.

In the bakery department there are a few screens, which the bakers use to determine what to make.

All of those pc's running cli could boot ltsp and then using ubuntu start a browser and display the same program.

But cli is simpler and does just what we need.

#13 Matthews Estrice

Matthews Estrice

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 241 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Henley-on-klip

Posted 11 September 2012 - 08:27 AM

Hi Steve,

Your application looks neat and organised.I give you 10 out of 10.Excellent.

I am impressed with the drag and drop and the functionality.The video presentation is stunning.Keep up the good work.

Matthews Estrice

#14 Steve Houghton

Steve Houghton

    Advanced

  • Validating
  • PipPipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted 11 September 2012 - 01:16 PM

Hi Matthews

Thanks for your kind comments - a lot of work went into making this system look professional. In the next week or so the video will be updated to include some images of our stylish reports from Excel.

Regards
Steve

#15 DARREN

DARREN

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 396 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida,USA

Posted 17 September 2012 - 01:12 PM


Version 7 does not support 'Green Screen' and Aurora has to be run through a browser. Why would anybody want 'Green Screens' in 2012?


We have a bread factory. In the plant we've 12+- green screens.

At the 3 packaging machines the screens for 2 shifts need just one pro4 screen program. The operator types in the product code and then the program displays the different ways that product needs to be packaged.

In the bakery department there are a few screens, which the bakers use to determine what to make.

All of those pc's running cli could boot ltsp and then using ubuntu start a browser and display the same program.

But cli is simpler and does just what we need.


I think it would be more correct to say that development for 'Green Screen' has gone as far as it can. You may not be aware that some of the set properties such as .refresh(), .enable and .visible are honored by green screen, so there is an advantage there straight away by upgrading.

.refresh allows you to repaint a field without visiting it e.g. mytotal.refresh()

It is obviously a strength of the language that the screens that you currently render through a 'green screen' emulator will also render in a browser with out (or very little) amendment.
Things should be made as simple as possible, but not simpler



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users