Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

7character file naming errors


8 replies to this topic

#1 Dustin Jorgesen

Dustin Jorgesen

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lakeland, United States

Posted 20 May 2002 - 01:17 PM

Howdy
We have recently noticed a bug in the file naming for superlayer in 4.6. If you a an 8 character file such as TESTFILE, the system will not allow you to enter another 8 character file with the same 7 characters such as TESTFILD. This is not a problem, however if you add a 7 character file name such as TESTFIL the system will allow it. We found this when we tried to gen something with an alternate and it failed because the alternate was already used by the 8 character file. Has anyone else had any problems with this?

Dustin

#2 Willy Martens

Willy Martens

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Location:Eindhoven, Netherlands

Posted 21 May 2002 - 05:42 AM

Hi,

This is not a bug, when you use alternate 1 the PROIV filename for both files will be TESTFIL1. That is why the first 7 characters need to be unique.

Hope this helps,

Regards,

Willy

#3 Rob Fantini

Rob Fantini

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 267 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Haverhill, United States

Posted 22 May 2002 - 12:00 AM

I've used 4.6 for along time, and read the manual once in awhile....

But i never knew of this minefield.

Guess I'll check all my file names asap!


Is this 7 character limitation/rule written anywhere?

#4 Willy Martens

Willy Martens

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Location:Eindhoven, Netherlands

Posted 22 May 2002 - 05:37 AM

Hi,

Yep it is in the SL developer guide for 4.6 & 5.0.
Chapter 4 (Files) last line of the first paragraph.

Have fun,

Willy

#5 Rob Fantini

Rob Fantini

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 267 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Haverhill, United States

Posted 22 May 2002 - 11:40 AM

Willy,

As I don't use SL , just native only, I skipped those chapters. But that does not mean it is not in the Native Dev guide ;-)

Rob

#6 Bryan Thompson

Bryan Thompson

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Harrisburg, Pennsylvania

Posted 22 May 2002 - 01:39 PM

Its only an SL limitation due to the fact that SL creates its own alternate files

Bryan

#7 Dustin Jorgesen

Dustin Jorgesen

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lakeland, United States

Posted 22 May 2002 - 04:38 PM

We are able to create files with the same first seven characters. I can create a file called TESTFIL and then TESTFILE. Then if I used TESTFIL and TESTFILE alternates 1 it will try to create the same file. The problem is that I am able to do this, not that I am unable.

Dustin

#8 Bryan Thompson

Bryan Thompson

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Harrisburg, Pennsylvania

Posted 22 May 2002 - 07:09 PM

What revision of 4.6 are you using??

#9 Shaun Rudland

Shaun Rudland

    Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 165 posts
  • Location:Queensland, Australia

Posted 22 May 2002 - 08:47 PM

G'Day Justin,

I've been using SL for a number of years (I must have been really bad in a previous life), and as far as I am aware, this 'hole' (call it a bug if you will) has always been there. It falls into the category of 'Traps for Young Players'.

Regards

Shaun
PRO-IV free for 385 Days B)



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users