Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Regen Error


12 replies to this topic

#1 siobi

siobi

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 48 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 28 December 2006 - 03:04 AM

Any ideas what this error means? It usually occurs when regening functions copied and modified from standard functions.

(error code 2)
SYSTEM E054 $PROPATH/SLFUN (10099) $PROPATH/SLFUN (10099) (IN SLFUN: U_GENPFM)

#2 Joseph Bove

Joseph Bove

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 756 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ramsey, United States

Posted 28 December 2006 - 06:16 PM

siobi,

This is a shot in the dark, but try ischking slfun.pro. Also, check permissions on that file.

I assume you develop in Super Layer?

hth,

Joseph

#3 siobi

siobi

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 48 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 29 December 2006 - 02:27 AM

Joseph

We shot in bright daylight and ..... missed. We ischecked the entire bootstrap and couldn't get anything. And yes, we are using superlayer. Any more shots?

#4 Vol Yip

Vol Yip

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 393 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hong Kong

Posted 29 December 2006 - 02:53 AM

Let me understand more...

You mean when you copy a function from standard system, say from ABC to C_ABC, then when you regen this C_ABC, you hit the error?

Does the error always happens when you regen C_ABC? Does it happen when you regen ABC?

Regards,

Vol

#5 siobi

siobi

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 48 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 29 December 2006 - 04:48 AM

Let me understand more...

You mean when you copy a function from standard system, say from ABC to C_ABC, then when you regen this C_ABC, you hit the error?

Does the error always happens when you regen C_ABC? Does it happen when you regen ABC?

Regards,

Vol


Yes, it does, both Standard and Copied function were hitting the same error message.

#6 Joseph Bove

Joseph Bove

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 756 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ramsey, United States

Posted 29 December 2006 - 01:24 PM

Siobi,

We shot in bright daylight and ..... missed. We ischecked the entire bootstrap and couldn't get anything. And yes, we are using superlayer. Any more shots?


Unfortunately, I don't know the Superlayer boots very well.

However, here are some additional thoughts.

If you create a prx of the function in question and move into another region do you have the problem there?

Is there any chance that the PROPATH is not being set properly?

What happens if you refresh the superlayer bootstrap functions? (With native, this would be done via isin dbase.out in the source code directory. I assume there is a similar .out file for superlayer)

Can you isout slfun.pro? On rare occassion, a file will ischk fine, but will show evidence of corruption on an isout.

hth,

Joseph

#7 siobi

siobi

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 48 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 30 December 2006 - 04:23 AM

Dear all

I've tried all the given suggestions and still can't resolve this problem. Here's another wierd one. I wanted to isout the entire bootstrap before doing anything (as a backup). I got errors like this

isout:Error analysing bpsl.pro; FS_EUNEXPECTED: Unexpected error conditions.
[Input/output error].

I'm just typing isout test.seq *.pro. Can anyone shed some light?

#8 Vol Yip

Vol Yip

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 393 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hong Kong

Posted 02 January 2007 - 03:55 AM

Could it be a file premission problem?

#9 Chris Pepper

Chris Pepper

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 369 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted 02 January 2007 - 08:46 AM

This format of message occurs when ProIV can't open MSGF.PRO. It dumps the parameters it is trying to send.

A 10099 is the internal code for "Unexpected file error" which is just a catch all when none of the other error conditions apply. That's why ischk is being recommended - i.e. in case the files have become corrupted.

If the error occurs only temporarily is it possible you've run out of some system / file system resource? (e.g. max number of open files etc).

There's obviously something wrong with the filesystem / ProIsam - have you looked at isamdef etc?

#10 siobi

siobi

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 48 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 03 January 2007 - 04:36 AM

Dear Chris,

I did as you suggested, but we are using a windows based installation. I assume you refer to the settings set in the PROIV server manager? We've played around with it but no matter what, the errors remain. Any other ideas

Regards
Desperate

#11 Richard Bassett

Richard Bassett

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 696 posts
  • Location:Rural France

Posted 03 January 2007 - 12:46 PM

Not familiar with ProIv on Windows but..

On Unix, error code 2 means ENOENT : "No such file or directory" and I'd bet that's still true on Windows as it's essentially standard C. It tallies with the SYSTEM054, which is "Can't open file" IIRC.

However, it doesn't seem to tally with the 10099 value for the generic error. As far as I remember there would be a generic error code specifically for "file does not exist".

If this is happening to a ProIV session that was working correctly (what you seem to be saying) then it does suggest that your ProISAM files have been corrupted or you are provoking some internal error in ProIV that is, for example, damaging data in memory so that ProIV goes "off the rails". Of course, the second might also have caused the first to happen at some point :rolleyes:

Historically at least, sometimes just allowing a ProISAM file to grow larger that the limit imposed by its record size could cause serious corruption. Worth double checking file and record sizes.

Can you restore a backup set of files and test for the problem in those ? You may well need to locate the most-recent uncorrupted backup anyway.. <_<

Although I'm not a ProIV on Windows user, I wonder if shutting down and restarting the ProIV service makes any difference - eg: could it be some kind of cumulative resource limit problem that you are provoking ?
Nothing's as simple as you think

#12 Junior

Junior

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 23 July 2008 - 08:36 PM

Any ideas what this error means? It usually occurs when regening functions copied and modified from standard functions.

(error code 2)
SYSTEM E054 $PROPATH/SLFUN (10099) $PROPATH/SLFUN (10099) (IN SLFUN: U_GENPFM)



Hi Siobi,

#13 Junior

Junior

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 23 July 2008 - 08:36 PM

Any ideas what this error means? It usually occurs when regening functions copied and modified from standard functions.

(error code 2)
SYSTEM E054 $PROPATH/SLFUN (10099) $PROPATH/SLFUN (10099) (IN SLFUN: U_GENPFM)



Hi Siobi,

I already executed the ISCHK in the file, but the problem still persist, so that I appreciate if you could explain me how did you solve the problem.

Best Regards,

Junior

Edited by Junior, 23 July 2008 - 08:40 PM.




Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users