#1 trc773

trc773

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 11 September 2006 - 03:18 PM

Hi All,

I have a problem.

I am a police officer, not a programmer. We do not have a programmer on staff. I have had very little training in Pro-IV. We have broken our relationship with our VAR. I am trying to extract data from my Pro-IV v4.6000 on a SCO UNIX platform, to give to a new vendor with a new (to us) database.

Our new vendor is reporting that many files are reporting corrupted records. In some cases 50% of the records are corrupt. At the recommendation of our former VAR, I ran the ischk utility faithfully daily. I am learning that ischk can cause problems.

I have limited access within Pro-IV. I can get to the security menu so I can give myself access to anything. I can get to the command prompt in UNIX and have generated tar files and extract them, which is how I was able to provide the new vendor with files.

My questions are:

Does ischk cause a problem?

If so, is there a way to correct or repair the problem caused by ischk?

Are 15+ years of backup tapes useless and we will lose all of our old data?

Thanks

TC

#2 Joseph Bove

Joseph Bove

ProIV Guru

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 756 posts

Posted 11 September 2006 - 03:35 PM

tc,

I'll generically because there are likely some critical details that are missing.

ischk - in and of itself will not damage a file.

However, ischk run with the -y option on a live system could damage a file.

ischk run without the -y option is basically a diagnostic that verifies the consistency of the key portions and addresses portions of a file. You can do a search on this site to find a lot of posts about ischk that go into a lot of detail.

When ischk is run on a live system, it can generate false positives because the file is "in motion".

Depending on the corruption, you should be able to extract the data. You'll find the names of a couple of tools people have used to do this by searching this forum.