Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

How to make a field display only based on vv?


7 replies to this topic

#1 priya_thomas

priya_thomas

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Bangalore, India

Posted 21 July 2006 - 11:21 AM

Hi,

How can I make a field display only based on a value variable?
For eg: If VV = 'Y', I want to see field on screen and do some logics.
If VV # 'Y', I don't want to see the field at all.
Is there any command to do this?
Please help.

#2 Rob Donovan

Rob Donovan

    rob@proivrc.com

  • Admin
  • 1,640 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain

Posted 21 July 2006 - 11:22 AM

Hi,

What version of ProIV are you on?

Are you GUI or GreenScreen?

Rob

#3 priya_thomas

priya_thomas

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Bangalore, India

Posted 21 July 2006 - 11:49 AM

Hi,
Version is 5.5
We are using GUI. Can it be done in CUI.

#4 Rob Donovan

Rob Donovan

    rob@proivrc.com

  • Admin
  • 1,640 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain

Posted 21 July 2006 - 12:44 PM

Hi,

Yes is can be done, with something like this...

IF &$VVAR = 'Y' THEN
  FieldsTagName.Visible = False
ELSE
  FieldsTagName.Visible = True
ENDIF

FieldsTagName.Refresh()

Cant remeber if you need the .Refresh() or not....

Rob.

#5 DARREN

DARREN

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 396 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida,USA

Posted 21 July 2006 - 02:02 PM

The refresh() is not required. The visible property takes effect immediately
Things should be made as simple as possible, but not simpler

#6 calebsg

calebsg

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 38 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 21 July 2006 - 02:11 PM

If the goal is merely to make it display only then this might work better:
FieldName.Enable = FALSE
. Neither way is really the same as Display only, visually.

#7 Guest_Guest_*

Guest_Guest_*
  • Guests

Posted 22 July 2006 - 06:12 AM

. . . or you cretae 2 equal fields (in size position etc.), one DO named 'FieldDO', the other non-DO named 'FieldNDO'. In logic you either switch on one or the otherĀ±

IF &$VVAR = 'Y' THEN
   FieldDO.Visible = False
   FieldNDO.Visible = True
ELSE
   FieldDO.Visible = True
   FieldNDO.Visible = False
ENDIF

I don't expect this to work in a paging screen, but you can try.

Hth


Jan

#8 sudhakar

sudhakar

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 42 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne
  • Interests:Browsing

Posted 23 July 2006 - 07:31 AM

Priya,

U can do a tricky way to achieve this -

1. If u don't want to see even text of the field also then don't declare it as static text in Format - ID. Declare it as field and assign the value of this field in 'Logic In' of your function based on value of ur value variable.

2. If u are not familiar with tag names, u can use field skip and avoid user to access the field.


Thanks,
Sudhakar



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users