Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

SQL and C-ISAM access


5 replies to this topic

#1 blofeld

blofeld

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 08 May 2006 - 12:09 PM

We're trying to set up PROIV to use both PostgreSQL and C-ISAM, however when the CONNECTION variable is set in proi4.ini the PRODATA environment variable seems to be ignored.

With CONNECTION set as below we can use the SQL database but when we create new C-ISAM files they are created in the user's current working directory and not in PRODATA. Also PROIV does not find our existing C-ISAM files as it only looks in the current working directory.

Any ideas why PRODATA is being ignored in this case?

-phil



pro4.ini
--------------
[DATABASE - SQLDEFAULT]
FILETYPE=POSTGRES
CONNECTION=odbcname/mypassword/mydatabase

myenv.ini
--------------
[Environment]
PROPATH=/home/proiv/dev/prg
PRODATA=/home/proiv/dev/data
PROTEMP=/home/proiv/install/temp
INFORMIXDIR=/home/proiv/install/gls
PRORUNTYPE=RUN
PROTERM=DECVT100

#2 Joseph Bove

Joseph Bove

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 756 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ramsey, United States

Posted 08 May 2006 - 03:37 PM

phil,

What's your back-end server?

Your setup looks like Windows, but I didn't think that PostgreSQL was supported on Windows...

Regards,

Joseph

#3 blofeld

blofeld

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 08 May 2006 - 03:42 PM

We're running on Red Hat AS 2.1
-phil

#4 fuentevilla

fuentevilla

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mexico

Posted 14 May 2006 - 08:41 PM

Have you try set linux environment variables insted of declare them in the pro4.ini file?

$export PROPATH=/home/proiv/dev/prg
$export PRODATA=/home/proiv/dev/data
$export PROTEMP=/home/proiv/install/temp
$export INFORMIXDIR=/home/proiv/install/gls
$export PRORUNTYPE=RUN
$export PROTERM=DECVT100

#5 blofeld

blofeld

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 15 May 2006 - 04:22 AM

Yes, we have have the linux environmental variables set in the user's .bash_profile

export PRORUNTYPE=DEV
export PROPATH=/home/proiv/dev/prg
export PRODATA=/home/proiv/dev/data
export PROTEMP=/home/proiv/install/temp
export PROIVOPR=MDC
export GUI=Y
export PROTERM=GUIDEV
export INFORMIXDIR=/home/proiv/install/gls

#6 Joseph Bove

Joseph Bove

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 756 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ramsey, United States

Posted 15 May 2006 - 02:45 PM

Phil,

Unfortunately, your setup looks fine. I suspect you may have to code around the problem by fetching PROPATH via SYSF and ALIAS'ing the file.

hth,

JOseph



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users