New to PRO IV

5 replies to this topic

#1 PeterKelly

PeterKelly

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 23 January 2006 - 07:31 AM

Hi, I'm new to Pro IV and was wondering if anybody had any books or hints they could recommend to a Pro IV novice. My previous programming experinces have been in Java , C and Clipper - all of which have a very different methodology to Pro IV.

Until then I'll just keep plugging away at the documention and hope I don't break the Dev server ;)

Peter Kelly

(And if anybody knows how i can move this post to some more releveant that would be good too :-" )

Edited by PeterKelly, 23 January 2006 - 07:36 AM.

#2 luwapula

luwapula

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 28 posts

Posted 23 January 2006 - 11:36 AM

Hi, I'm new to Pro IV and was wondering if anybody had any books or hints they could recommend to a Pro IV novice. My previous programming experinces have been in Java , C and Clipper - all of which have a very different methodology to Pro IV.

Until then I'll just keep plugging away at the documention and hope I don't break the Dev server ;)

Peter Kelly

(And if anybody knows how i can move this post to some more releveant that would be good too ;) )

What version of proiv are u using?

Luwapula

#3 George Macken

George Macken

ProIV Guru

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 248 posts

Posted 23 January 2006 - 06:44 PM

Hi

there are some earlier posts on similar subject - use the Search on the forum

http://www.proivrc.c...hl=timing cycle

also take a look at this posting, understanding the timing cycle is pretty important in the development of pro-iv functions

http://www.proivrc.c...read=1&hl=cycle

Rgds

#4 PeterKelly

PeterKelly

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 24 January 2006 - 12:53 AM

We are using Native 5.232* (*I can't tell you exactly until my unix login is organised) running on Solaris.