Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Active X Progress Bar


15 replies to this topic

#1 Bill Loven

Bill Loven

    Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 147 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Coppell, United States

Posted 15 March 2005 - 10:56 PM

:) I have implemented several Active X Controls, but I am unsuccessful at implementing the progress bar.

You can only have active x on screens.

How do you communicate from an update (long running) to a screen and update the progress bar?

Same for long running reports.

Any help would be really appreciated.

Bill

#2 mdexter

mdexter

    Advanced

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 70 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 16 March 2005 - 12:02 AM

I don't think it can be done. I think UMSG's are the only option at this point. HTH. Mark

#3 Stuart Burton

Stuart Burton

    Advanced

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 71 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Luton, United Kingdom

Posted 16 March 2005 - 09:52 AM

Build the update into a screen function as an Update Cycle (LSUPDATE). You can then update the progress bar as the update progresses.

#4 Bill Loven

Bill Loven

    Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 147 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Coppell, United States

Posted 16 March 2005 - 01:59 PM

:)
Stuart,

I thought about your solution, but if you use the same update in multiple functions, then you have increased the maintenance multiple fold.

Maybe ProIV might deside to put active X in more than screens.

Bill.

#5 NeilIV

NeilIV

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 28 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 16 March 2005 - 02:10 PM

Bill,

Would a window cycle work?

#6 Neil Hunter

Neil Hunter

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 414 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Johannesburg, South Africa

Posted 16 March 2005 - 03:12 PM

How bout the other way round then, call a global screen with only with the ActiveX from your update ?

#7 Bill Loven

Bill Loven

    Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 147 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Coppell, United States

Posted 16 March 2005 - 04:31 PM

:) I tried that but no gravy.

Deep from Proiv made a few suggestions but could not provide any examples.

I read some where that Oracle has a way of dispalying a progress bar from a stored procedure.

My DBA is looking into that. If he is successful, I will convert long running update to stored procedures.

The results of the stored procedure will feed our reports.

Bill

#8 Guest_Neil Mellis_*

Guest_Neil Mellis_*
  • Guests

Posted 17 March 2005 - 04:53 AM

One way this can be achieved is by using the persistance and handler feature of PROIV activex.
If at the start of the process you run a screen to display the progress bar and then run the update
you can flag the control as persitant you could then call a skinny screen that has the control flagged as
handler. This will allow the screen to interact with a control created by another screen. The tag names should
be the same within both functions. The only down side to this is that a screen is being executed every time
you want to update the progress bar so don't call it every iteration but as a factor.

#9 Bill Loven

Bill Loven

    Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 147 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Coppell, United States

Posted 17 March 2005 - 04:43 PM

:) Ok Neil, got any examples.

Again, I tried your method and still no gravy.

Bill

#10 mdexter

mdexter

    Advanced

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 70 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 17 March 2005 - 09:37 PM

In VIP, there is a progress bar during the Import / Export. Does anyone know how this is accomplished? Mark

#11 Guest_Neil Mellis_*

Guest_Neil Mellis_*
  • Guests

Posted 18 March 2005 - 02:26 AM

:) Ok Neil, got any examples.

Again, I tried your method and still no gravy.

Bill

Bill,

post your function with a dummy call to the update process and I look at it and repost

Neil

#12 Guest_Neil Mellis_*

Guest_Neil Mellis_*
  • Guests

Posted 18 March 2005 - 02:33 AM

In VIP, there is a progress bar during the Import / Export. Does anyone know how this is accomplished? Mark

Mark,

The VIP progress bar is a global function that displays and updates the control and is called repeatedly from
a managing screen function that is also calling the update processes. There is too much VIP baggage to post the
function and dependencies. I will try to create an example using Bill's code to avoid confusion.

#13 Bill Loven

Bill Loven

    Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 147 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Coppell, United States

Posted 18 March 2005 - 02:15 PM

:) The progress bar that is used during the export is not a real progress bar but icons that are in groups of ten. Watch the next time you do an export and you will see waht I mean.

#14 Guest_Neil Mellis_*

Guest_Neil Mellis_*
  • Guests

Posted 21 March 2005 - 05:44 AM

My version if VIP uses a control what version are you using?? This was changed some time ago and no longer uses icon segments.

#15 Bill Loven

Bill Loven

    Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 147 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Coppell, United States

Posted 24 March 2005 - 08:59 PM

:eek: Neil, Sorry for the long delay, I took my son and his best friend Hog Hunting in central Texas.

Of course you know, Texas is God's Country.

My version of Vip is 5.5920.



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users