Agents and their duties.

22 replies to this topic

#1 Berek Halfhand

Berek Halfhand

• Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 07 January 2005 - 08:39 AM

I have been contracting for roughly six years and have always went through an agent. There have been times where I have had the opportunity to go direct but have chosen to go through an agent for the simple reason that I'm 'gauranteed' a regular and prompt payment, even if at a premium.

I recently started a new contract and with a new agent. The problem is that the agent refuses to pay until they have recieved the funds from the client. This can typically be a period of a month. For example, the first month's invoice is payed two months after starting. Is this normal practice? If so, what is the point of going through an agent at all? Has anyone else had a similar experience?

In the past I have recieved a payment within 5-10 days of invoicing.

#2 Guest_Guest_guest_*

Guest_Guest_guest_*
  • Guests

Posted 07 January 2005 - 08:55 AM

That's longer than I've ever had to wait for funds. Depends
on your contract if the agent is obliged to pay you or not
irrespective of if the end client pays the agent - check your
contract. Otherwise, a nice chat with the accounts folk
at the client is your only chance of sorting it - IMO.

#3 Donald Miller

Donald Miller

ProIV Guru

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 205 posts
  • Interests:Motorcycling, Running, Cooking

Posted 07 January 2005 - 08:58 AM

Hi Berek

I too have been contracting for some time and have only worked through agents for a total of roughly one year (out of 18 years). If you work direct there are (in my experience), less hassles, prompt payment, and full payment for services rendered.