Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Remote Desktop


7 replies to this topic

#1 Rick Young

Rick Young

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 265 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Guelph, Canada

Posted 23 September 2004 - 02:48 PM

Nothing to do with ProIV in any shape or form.


At work, I have a 19" monitor, WinXP Pro, running at 1600 x 1200 32bit colour.

At home, I have a 17" monitor, WinXP Home, running at 1024 x 768 32 bit colour.

This morning, I used Remote Desktop across a VPN to work, to access my work PC from home.

Later, I arrived at work, to find that my PC was now set to 640 x 480, 4 bit :D colour, and the settings unchangeable. Rebooting fixed this.

Question: is there a setting somewhere that I'm missing, to disallow the host PC from changing it's res?

#2 Surajit

Surajit

    Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 132 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Land of Smiles :-)

Posted 24 September 2004 - 02:53 AM

Hi,

I think that your PC reboot in safe mode, MS Windows does not load any device's driver when it boot in safe mode. So your display is set to VGA mode which is default mode. When it restart in normal mode, the device's drivers are loaded.

But I don't know why does your PC reboot ? May be the problem of electric power.

Surajit

#3 Rick Young

Rick Young

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 265 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Guelph, Canada

Posted 24 September 2004 - 12:40 PM

Hi Surajit, thanks for your reply, however my work PC did not reboot. When I first connected to the machine, the same app was running that I left the previous night; when I arrived physically in the office, the apps that I'd left running in the morning when I disconnected, were all still running (just bloody ugly in 600x480).

Also, there was no "Safe Mode" verbage on the desktop, and my normal wallpaper was up.


-Rick

#4 Glenn Meyers

Glenn Meyers

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 221 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:St. Louis, MO, United States
  • Interests:I also raise African Gray Parrots and build hot rod automobiles.

Posted 24 September 2004 - 06:59 PM

See, what's happening, Rick is that because your monitor at home is so small it is squeezing the electrons on the video. That is creating a backpressure that is overloading your Monitor at work.

Don't be so cheap, go buy a bigger monitor at home!!!!


LOL

Take care, my friend,
Glenn

#5 Rick Young

Rick Young

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 265 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Guelph, Canada

Posted 27 September 2004 - 01:18 PM

:D I must have misread this somehow - I thought I read that you were going to buy me a new monitor Glenn! :D

#6 Guest_Guest_*

Guest_Guest_*
  • Guests

Posted 27 September 2004 - 03:07 PM

There you go THINKING again.........

#7 Glenn Meyers

Glenn Meyers

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 221 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:St. Louis, MO, United States
  • Interests:I also raise African Gray Parrots and build hot rod automobiles.

Posted 27 September 2004 - 05:40 PM

Ya, what he said!!
You might hurt yersef doing strange things like that!

Glenn

#8 Rick Young

Rick Young

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 265 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Guelph, Canada

Posted 27 September 2004 - 05:52 PM

I got told that same thing by some strange white-coated man, about the pegs were supposed to only fit in some holes and not others.



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users