18 replies to this topic

#1 Rob Donovan

Rob Donovan

rob@proivrc.com

• Admin
  • 1,640 posts

Posted 18 October 2002 - 06:31 AM

Hi,

I'm a bit new to Oracle and I'm having a problem...

I have a logic that GLOBAL_LSCALLs 3 screens. One of these screens updates an oracle table.

After the 3 GLOBAL_LSCALLs (under some conditions) I want to ROLLBACK the changes made in the global functions.

However, the ROLLBACK does not seem to 'rollback'.

This is my logic...

GLOBAL_LSCALL(FUN01,0001)
GLOBAL_LSCALL(FUN02,0002)
GLOBAL_LSCALL(FUN03,0003)

IF #ERR = 1 THEN
  UMSG('ROLLBACK',-1)
  #RB = ROLLBACK()
ENDIF

I've also tried putting a ENABLE(&#@SUPP-COMM) before the GLOBAL_LSCALLs.

Anyone any idea what I'm doing wrong!!

Thanks,

Rob D.

#2 Shaun Rudland

Shaun Rudland

Expert

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 165 posts

Posted 18 October 2002 - 07:20 AM

G'Day Rob,

Just a quick thought on my way to the beer fridge (I know you still have an hour or so to go over that side of the continent) ...

The COMMIT suppression should really be enabled at the very start of the function. Even if this doesn't solve your particular problem, it is good practice, as it's easier for others to find, and should be issued before any processing is performed. I haven't really used GLOBAL FUNCTIONS much, but it would not really be possible for them to COMMIT after their particular section, so I don't see why a ROLLBACK would not be possible. Also, a COMMIT suppression should not be necessary. If you temporarily suppress the global calls, and then set #ERR to 1, does the calling function ROLLBACK it's section ?

.... oops, the crackers and brie have arrived. Good Luck.
PRO-IV free for 385 Days B)

#3 Cleve Haynes

Cleve Haynes

Expert

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 172 posts

Posted 18 October 2002 - 08:38 AM

Hey Rob

I seem to recall the global functions & Oracle commit points were a nightmare.... :)