Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

1.5 Pro IV Installation


16 replies to this topic

#1 Donald Miller

Donald Miller

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 205 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cupar, Fife, Scotland
  • Interests:Motorcycling, Running, Cooking

Posted 14 April 2004 - 02:06 PM

I know it's really old stuff but I'd like to keep a copy for future reference. The error in the description - SYSTEM E013%$@CTITLE is received during the execution of LOGON when the PIV (BAT) file is executed. The value variable does exist in the original environment although it has a null value. The Pro IV session is closed shortly after the error is displayed. The error does not occur on the original system

The original sysytem is Windows 98 the new one is XP Professional.

It's been a while and I don't have the old manuals anymore.

If anyone can point me in the right direction I'd appreciate it. Thanks
Half of what he said meant something else, and the other half didn't mean anytthing at all

#2 Chris Mackenzie

Chris Mackenzie

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 368 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bristol, United Kingdom

Posted 14 April 2004 - 03:01 PM

My guess is you need to have the correct company defined in your logon.
The VVAR is CO/DIV dependant.
The content and views expressed in this message are those
of the poster and do not represent those of any organisation.

#3 Chris Pepper

Chris Pepper

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 369 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted 14 April 2004 - 05:02 PM

Alternatively ensure &$@CTITLE exists. This should be used if a Co/Div dependent Value Variable is missing.

#4 Donald Miller

Donald Miller

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 205 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cupar, Fife, Scotland
  • Interests:Motorcycling, Running, Cooking

Posted 15 April 2004 - 12:35 PM

To Chris MacK - I'm using the default Pro IV login. MDC SYS

To Chris P - &$@CTITLE does exist and has a value. I added MDC%$@CTITLE to the original file and ISIN'd it once more.

Still get the same error in LOGON.

Also tried running as compatible with Windows 95. Still no joy.

Thanks anyway - any other ideas ?
Half of what he said meant something else, and the other half didn't mean anytthing at all

#5 Rob Donovan

Rob Donovan

    rob@proivrc.com

  • Admin
  • 1,640 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain

Posted 15 April 2004 - 12:39 PM

Hi Donald,

Not sure if version 1.5 had it or not, but try enabling TRACEALL=15 before you start ProIV.

This will log a trace to a tracefile (????.TRC file name), and it might help you... or me, if you send it to me :)

Rob D.

#6 Chris Mackenzie

Chris Mackenzie

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 368 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bristol, United Kingdom

Posted 15 April 2004 - 02:28 PM

I'm using the default Pro IV login. MDC SYS


Is that in a transparent login?

If so try SYS MDC

Otherwise, there may be some other permissions error. Or not.
The content and views expressed in this message are those
of the poster and do not represent those of any organisation.

#7 Chris Pepper

Chris Pepper

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 369 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted 16 April 2004 - 09:40 AM

The message suggests it can't open VARDEF.PRO, the SYSTEM prefix to the error message may also mean it can't open MSGF.PRO either.

You may have to fiddle around with the MSDOS compatibility settings on XP. I remember that you had to increase the number of 'open files' allowed in a DOS session back in the days of 1.5. The default number is really quite small. Maybe something needs to be tweaked here?

#8 Richard Bassett

Richard Bassett

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 696 posts
  • Location:Rural France

Posted 16 April 2004 - 12:02 PM

Eminently plausible Dr Pepper. I was trying to think what would cause those symptoms.
PS. I find your #-cakes taste different depending which side of the atlantic I'm on, can you explain that?
Nothing's as simple as you think

#9 Chris Pepper

Chris Pepper

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 369 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted 16 April 2004 - 03:53 PM

Probably for the same reason US ProIV programmers have more use for periods whereas we're slightly dotty.

(and you're more of a Dick in Europe?)

#10 Richard Bassett

Richard Bassett

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 696 posts
  • Location:Rural France

Posted 16 April 2004 - 05:23 PM

(and you're more of a Dick in Europe?)

Ah yes, but only to my so-called friends <_<
Nothing's as simple as you think

#11 Donald Miller

Donald Miller

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 205 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cupar, Fife, Scotland
  • Interests:Motorcycling, Running, Cooking

Posted 20 April 2004 - 10:22 AM

Rob

TRACEALL=15 fails in 1.5103 Thanks anyway

Chris

Running the .bat gets the error described. Running pro.exe directly gets "PRO IV DATA FILES MISSING - TERMMAST" I'll move the files around to see if I can get any access.

Thanks for the suggestions
Half of what he said meant something else, and the other half didn't mean anytthing at all

#12 Chris Pepper

Chris Pepper

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 369 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted 20 April 2004 - 04:35 PM

TERMMAST is the first file to be opened; so that suggests a permissions problem. Is the PROPATH environment variable set in the .BAT file?

#13 Donald Miller

Donald Miller

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 205 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cupar, Fife, Scotland
  • Interests:Motorcycling, Running, Cooking

Posted 21 April 2004 - 07:11 AM

Yes that's why executing using the piv doesn't get the same error. There is no previous setting of PROPATH when PRO.EXE is called directly which is why it gets the error.

It does look like the path settings are not correct as it appears that VARDEF is not able to be read. The propath is correct, the file does exist and the variable does exist on the file and has a value.

Maybe I should just bit the bullet and upgrade to 5.5 ....
Half of what he said meant something else, and the other half didn't mean anytthing at all

#14 Chris Mackenzie

Chris Mackenzie

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 368 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bristol, United Kingdom

Posted 21 April 2004 - 07:33 AM

Hi,

When you execute the pro.exe directly, with the directory containing
the bootstrap files as your current working directory and no setting
for PROPATH, do you still get an error?
The content and views expressed in this message are those
of the poster and do not represent those of any organisation.

#15 Richard Bassett

Richard Bassett

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 696 posts
  • Location:Rural France

Posted 21 April 2004 - 10:37 AM

Donald,

Just to say - your original problem did not look like a permission problem because it appeared to get to executing LOGON but the failed to read VARDEF and apparently MSGF.
Since the bootstrap files are in the same directory, it would be uncommon if there was a permission problem with VARDEF but not FUNCTDEF etc..
As Chris Pepper pointed out, it is perhaps more likely that you've hit some "open file quota" limit for the process and have just happened to hit it when ProIV needed to open VARDEF.
I have seen similar symptoms on Unix once or twice where the overall system limit for file descriptors is reached (has to be reconfigured in the Unix kernel).
If you didn't already do so, I would recommend looking for something in Windows that is putting a cap on the number of open files for your process ('fraid I don't know where that would be).
Nothing's as simple as you think



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users