Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Problem Connect to Oracle


20 replies to this topic

#1 Joanne

Joanne

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Gender:Female

Posted 07 July 2003 - 09:26 AM

I having problem connecting the VIP to Oracle 9i database Version 9.2.01.0.
Both of the software i have install in my laptop ( OS = Windows 2000 ) .
The VIP version is 5.5r303 Build 218 and the Kernel version is 3.03.

I keep hitting the error "Ora 12203 : TNS Unable to connect to Destination".
I have create a TNS in my local PC and tested the connections and it's working.

I not very sure how to set the Pro4.ini . It's would be great if there is a sample .
Is there anything else that i need to set ?

#2 Ralph Gadsby

Ralph Gadsby

    Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 154 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted 07 July 2003 - 09:43 AM

Oracle 9.2.0.1 is not supported with PROIV. You must upgrade to 9.2.0.3, which is the supported Oracle 9.2 version.

#3 Rob Donovan

Rob Donovan

    rob@proivrc.com

  • Admin
  • 1,640 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain

Posted 08 July 2003 - 07:37 AM

Hi,

Dont know if it works with Oracle 9i, but this is what we use of version 8i....

You will obviously have to changfe the ORACLE_DLLNAME to where 9i's DLL is and also supply the instance/password@sid bit....

[ENVIRONMENT]
SQL_NOSIG=Y
SYBASE_SELECT_FOR_UPDATE=TRUE
SQL_DBNAME=z
ORACLE_DLLNAME=d:\Proiv.53\PROORA815.DLL
SQL_CURSORS=32

[Database - SQLDEFAULT]
FILETYPE=ORACLE
CONNECTION=user/password@sid

HTHs,

Rob D.

#4 Joanne

Joanne

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Gender:Female

Posted 09 July 2003 - 01:10 AM

Since the Oracle 9.2.1.0 is not supported , i have reinstall the Oracle 8.1.7 instead.
However i still encounter the same problem where it can't connect to the database.

Here i list the pro4.ini i have set :
Where the SID = PRODEMOS and DB Name = PRODEMOS

[Serial - 5.0]
Customer=QR RETAIL
Installation0=5AGF 5HED 5G54 B822 3E35 25HA

[Serial Info - 5.0]
Installation0=Evaluation mode for SiteId 180010, valid through Thu Aug 07 2003


[ENVIRONMENT]
PROPATH=C:\PRO55\BOOTS
;PRODATA=C:\PRO55\BOOTS
PRODATA=d:\vipdemo\data
PRORUNTYPE=DEV
GUI=Y
PROTERM=GUIDEV
STARTCLIENT=C:\PRO55\PROGUI.EXE /INI:C:\PRO55\LOOPBACK.INI
FSIDEFAULT=PRO-ISAM
ORACLE_SID=PRODEMOS
ORACLE_HOME=d:\oracle8idb
SQL_DBTYPE=ORACLE
SQL_USERNAME=PROFIT
SQL_PASSWORD=PROFIT1888
ORACLE_DLLNAME=C:\PRO55\PROORA815.DLL
SQL_CURSORS=40
P2000_SELECT_FOR_UPDATE=TRUE
DB2_SELECT_FOR_UPDATE=TRUE

[USER DEFAULT]
PROIVOPER=SYS
PROIVCODIV=PTI

[Database - SQLDEFAULT]
FILETYPE=ORACLE
CONNECTION=PROFIT/PROFIT1888/PRODEMOS

[CLIENT32]
INSTALLDIR=C:\PRO55
Command1=PROIV.EXE


Really appreciate someone who can help. We need to set up this environment for our demo coming next week.

#5 Rob Donovan

Rob Donovan

    rob@proivrc.com

  • Admin
  • 1,640 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain

Posted 09 July 2003 - 01:18 AM

Hi,

The CONNECTION parameter should be...

CONNECTION=PROFIT/PROFIT1888@PRODEMOS

and not CONNECTION=PROFIT/PROFIT1888/PRODEMOS

See if that helps,

Rob D.

#6 Guest_Guest_*

Guest_Guest_*
  • Guests

Posted 09 July 2003 - 02:26 AM

Hi Rob,

Have try CONNECTION=PROFIT/PROFIT1888@PRODEMOS

But now it giving another error messge :
Ora 12154 TNS could not resolve service name

When we try CONNECTION=PROFIT/PROFIT1888/PRODEMOS
it giving error msg Ora 12203 TNS Unable to connect to destination.

Is there anything i need to set besides this ini files ?

I have try to connect to the databases using the TNS Prodemos and it's working fine.

#7 Jeff Hon

Jeff Hon

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 29 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 09 July 2003 - 05:04 AM

Have you set up the Oracle LISTENER service on your Win 2000 pc? If you haven't set up the LISTENER service and you issue a that connection string, Oracle won't be able to resolve the database name hence your error message.

#8 Joanne

Joanne

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Gender:Female

Posted 09 July 2003 - 05:39 AM

Hi ..

I have tested the Listener using the command lsnrctl status and it's working fine.

#9 Rob Donovan

Rob Donovan

    rob@proivrc.com

  • Admin
  • 1,640 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain

Posted 09 July 2003 - 05:42 AM

Hi,

Can you connect from dos via SQLPLUS??

ie...

SQLPLUS PROFIT/PROFIT1888@PRODEMOS


Rob D.

#10 Jeff Hon

Jeff Hon

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 29 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 09 July 2003 - 05:47 AM

Yep. Try connecting using SQL*Plus with the full connection string, ie. SQL_USERNAME/SQL_PASSWORD@DATABASE. If you can't connect using SQL*Plus then it's a question of incorrect set up of the LISTENER parameter files. Just because the service name shows up when you run "lsnrctl status" does not always mean the LISTERNER is correctly set up.

#11 Joanne

Joanne

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Gender:Female

Posted 09 July 2003 - 05:59 AM

Hi ..

Try the SQLPLUS, can login using SQLPLUS PROFIT/PROFIT1888@PRODEMOS.

As i'm debuging, i found that when i login through VIP, the listener.log is not written anything there.

:(

#12 Rob Donovan

Rob Donovan

    rob@proivrc.com

  • Admin
  • 1,640 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain

Posted 09 July 2003 - 06:00 AM

Just because the service name shows up when you run "lsnrctl status" does not always mean the LISTERNER is correctly set up.


Tell me about it!!! :(

I've had to spend a bit of time trying to get the listner to work correctly.

A DB I setup would work fine locally, but would not connect from a remote PC.

If I stoped the listner, then started it again, it would allow remote connections for 60 seconds, then another listener service would auto start (from somewhere??) and then all remote connections would fail to connect??

Very strange, but its the first time I've installed and setup Oracle, so I had probably done something stupid :)

Rob D.

#13 Joanne

Joanne

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Gender:Female

Posted 09 July 2003 - 06:05 AM

Hi Rob,

As i installing the Oracle 8.1.7, i remember there is a setting where you could set how many people can
simultaneously.

#14 Joanne

Joanne

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Gender:Female

Posted 09 July 2003 - 06:52 AM

Could anyone give the full sample of the proiv.ini as reference ?
:(

#15 Rob Donovan

Rob Donovan

    rob@proivrc.com

  • Admin
  • 1,640 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain

Posted 09 July 2003 - 07:47 AM

Hi,

Do you mean pro4.ini and not ProIV.ini?

These settings should be in pro4.ini, there is nothing in proiv.ini that is to do with connections....

This is my pro4.ini...

[CLIENT32]
INSTALLDIR=D:\ProIV\5.5\220
Command1=PROIV.EXE
[ENVIRONMENT]
;TRACEALL=15
;TR_PATH=D:\TRACE.TRC
PROPATH=D:\ProIV\5.5\220\BOOTS
PRODATA=D:\ProIV\5.5\220\BOOTS
PRORUNTYPE=DEV
GUI=Y
PROTERM=GUIDEV
STARTCLIENT=D:\ProIV\5.5\220\PROGUI.EXE /INI:D:\ProIV\5.5\220\LOOPBACK.INI
FSIDEFAULT=PRO-ISAM

USERNAME_VALIDATE=N
SQL_NOSIG=Y
SYBASE_SELECT_FOR_UPDATE=TRUE
SQL_DBNAME=z
CDATE_50=Y
DATE_SC_50=Y
ORACLE_DLLNAME=d:\Proiv\5.5\220\PROORA815.DLL
SQL_CURSORS=32
[Database - SQLDEFAULT]
FILETYPE=ORACLE
CONNECTION=user/password@sid
[Serial - 5.0]
Customer=robdon
Installation0=A42E 5HED 5G5A HFAD 3EAD 44CF
[Serial Info - 5.0]
Installation0=Evaluation mode for SiteId 501781, valid through Thu Jul 24 2003

Rob D.



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users