Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Restricting "Remember Username/Password" Option


8 replies to this topic

#1 pdonahue

pdonahue

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 23 May 2003 - 08:51 PM

Hello,

Is it possible to prevent users from checking the "Remember Username/Password" box in the PROIV 4.6 client? The client environment is Windows 2000 (for the most part) and simply making the profile read-only isn't sufficient; users can just "Save As" and save the profile elsewhere. What I'm looking for is some way to restrict this capability at the client level, and not the file level (if possible).

Thanks!
Pat

#2 Rob Donovan

Rob Donovan

    rob@proivrc.com

  • Admin
  • 1,640 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain

Posted 24 May 2003 - 11:21 AM

Hi,

Sorry, I dont think that this is not possible.

I have metioned it to ProIV support a long time ago (2-3 years ago), but nothing has been done.

Rob D.

#3 Brian Manners

Brian Manners

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 46 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne

Posted 26 May 2003 - 01:04 AM

Double negatives on a Monday morning :eek:
It's all good

#4 Rob Donovan

Rob Donovan

    rob@proivrc.com

  • Admin
  • 1,640 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain

Posted 26 May 2003 - 01:34 AM

Hmmm...

Friday night was a bit heavy.... That will teach me to post on Saturdays... :eek:


Rob D.

#5 Mike Schoen

Mike Schoen

    Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 198 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Guelph, Canada

Posted 26 May 2003 - 02:20 PM

Would something like this work for you?
You can create a user-mode piv that prompts for password, and rename it to piv.base.

Then write a batch file as follows, and have the users run the batch file:

copy piv.base %TEMP%\mylogin
call c:\proivclient\proiv.exe %TEMP%\mylogin
del %TEMP%\mylogin

Have users run the batch file, if they enter and save a password, it is
lost as soon as they exit the client.

#6 Glenn Meyers

Glenn Meyers

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 221 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:St. Louis, MO, United States
  • Interests:I also raise African Gray Parrots and build hot rod automobiles.

Posted 28 May 2003 - 02:54 PM

The User name and password are stored in the PIV file. We make that file read only.

#7 Kevin Bruss

Kevin Bruss

    Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 113 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oklahoma City, OK

Posted 28 May 2003 - 04:51 PM

Just an FYI here, but there is another release of the client, 5.0 Build
302. This has a configuration option that under application tab, has
a "user configuration" setting which once saved and reloaded,
limits access to the application tab. For me, this client setting
is quite annoying as the logon/logoff icon (lightning bolt) is
not available.

As for the "Remember Username/Password", unfortunately,
since the "Prompt for Login" is enabled, the checkbox still
shows up.

So.. tne fix would be to
save the user's name/password in their .piv individually,
disable the "Prompt for logon",
(optional, enable "user configuration")
then make the .piv read only.

Unfortunately, this means there is basically no security, esp if
you have each account setup as/with a transparent logon.

#8 Joseph Serra

Joseph Serra

    Advanced

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 93 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 29 May 2003 - 08:07 AM

I think the point here is that security is enhanced, not removed, ie, to force the operators to type in their passwords. I know we have been quite interested in finding a way or removing the "Remember Username/Password" check box, although it has been a lower priority task.

I do like the idea of making the piv file read only.

I would like to see ProIV introduce something so we can configure the client to disable the check box altogether. It seems that I wouldn't be alone in wanting this. (I trust ProIV are listening :eek: )

#9 pdonahue

pdonahue

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 29 May 2003 - 01:00 PM

I spoke to Glovia support and the tech suggested checking the 'User Configuration' box under Interface Options on the Application tab. This is an acceptable workaround as the client is not able to save the password to the PIV (no file menu anymore). Even if the client checks 'Remember Username/Password' and the PIV is writable, the password is not written to the file.



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users