Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

GUI Settings - Flicker Free!!


15 replies to this topic

#1 Rob Donovan

Rob Donovan

    rob@proivrc.com

  • Admin
  • 1,640 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain

Posted 17 August 2000 - 03:06 PM

Hi,

This is a good one......


While testing out the GUI with PROIV I noticed that the bitmaps and icons seem to flicker.

However, I have found a great setting.

If you put the following line in the 'proiv.ini' file in the windows dir (or winnt) then your GUI screens will look 100% better....

FlickerFree=1

Also another one.....

To enable the right click menu try...

EnableRightClickMenus=1

Cant understand why there is a setting to make things better and also why it is not in the manual!

I'm using client 204.

Did anyone else know about this? Or any other interesting settings?

Have fun!!!!!!


Rob D

#2 Steve Jenkins

Steve Jenkins

    Advanced

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 58 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cardiff, United Kingdom

Posted 17 August 2000 - 04:09 PM

Top secret list of Proiv.ini settings.

Here's a copy of mine.

[Settings]
BugsFree=1
DecentScrollBar=1
RandomScreenFreeze=0
NoGPF=1
StupidCheckBoxInDateControl=0
WindowsStandard=1
AwesomeDevelopmentTool=1
IntroduceNewBugsWithUpgrade=0
GodMode=1


Hope this helps. :-)


Steve

#3 Rob Donovan

Rob Donovan

    rob@proivrc.com

  • Admin
  • 1,640 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain

Posted 17 August 2000 - 05:58 PM

Sorry, I forgot to say.... put it in the [settings] section

and also make sure you put it in the proiv.ini file and NOT the pro4.ini file!

Rob D

#4 Wim Soutendijk

Wim Soutendijk

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 211 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 18 August 2000 - 10:45 AM

Too bad the appearance of paging screens changes dramaticly when FlickerFree is used!

#5 Rob Donovan

Rob Donovan

    rob@proivrc.com

  • Admin
  • 1,640 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain

Posted 18 August 2000 - 11:33 AM

What is it that has changed??

I get no change with paging screens on my system

Client 204
Kernel 211
Windows NT
DEC UNIX & local on PC

What revisions are you using?

Rob D

#6 Wim Soutendijk

Wim Soutendijk

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 211 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 18 August 2000 - 11:40 AM

client 204
host (sco unix) 4.6r201

also it is a pitty that the right click does not select the field.
Highlight a field, right click there and copy it, move the mouse to another field, rightclick and copy,
the copy is done on the original field, where you could expect the cursor first to move to the new field and
paste it in there

#7 Rob Donovan

Rob Donovan

    rob@proivrc.com

  • Admin
  • 1,640 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain

Posted 18 August 2000 - 11:45 AM

Pitty about the right click, but it's better than nothing.

You did not say what was different with the paging screens

Rob D

#8 Dan Shannon

Dan Shannon

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 374 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Australia

Posted 18 August 2000 - 09:13 PM

Rob,

The difference is that paging screen areas are now grey with white fields on top rather than the normal white, so it looks very crappy indeed.

Dan Shannon

#9 Rob Donovan

Rob Donovan

    rob@proivrc.com

  • Admin
  • 1,640 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain

Posted 18 August 2000 - 11:42 PM

Had not noticed that, due to the colours that I use

Found another setting EnableOldStylePagingWallpaper

But it does not seem to work. I'm only guessing that this should probably be set to 1. But it does not do anything

I have my 'Input Fields' set to the same colour as my background colour and then it does not look bad

I can live with that, just to get rid of the flicker

Maybe they will fix the EnableOldStylePagingWallpaper setting, but since all of this is not in the manual I guess they will say that it is not supported

Although, I think they must have used the FlickerFree setting in the HRS system to make it look that good. Therefore this option should be considered supported. Or is the 'HRS' system unsupported

Rob D

#10 Dan Shannon

Dan Shannon

    ProIV Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 374 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Australia

Posted 18 August 2000 - 11:56 PM

I assume the EnableOldStylePagingWallpaper enables the wallpaper under the paging area again instead of only on the non-paging area of an LS?

#11 Guest_Tackline_*

Guest_Tackline_*
  • Guests

Posted 21 August 2000 - 02:20 AM

Flicker free is an undocumented option to get around a few issues with certain graphics drivers. I believe in later versions it changes name to something else to invite less mirth, or perhps just kludged around

EnableOldStylePagingWallpaper: I can really only tell you what JavaSuite 2.10 does, which may or may not have anything to do with the varying behaviour of the MFC. In the olden days when you entered a LS the wallpaper for the whole window would be set if the LS has an image defined (subject to redraw errors and ommisions). Obviously if you exit into an LS that doesn't have a wallpaper you keep the sub-LS image. For an example of this see some version of DevStudio logic search. For HRS ResourceLink an image can be defined to cover just the area of a paging LS. This image is behind all other controls, including those in other LSs. The behaviour for non-paing, non-window LSs is not defined. EnableOldStylePagingWallpaper merely switches back to the old style paging wallpaper system

#12 Rob Donovan

Rob Donovan

    rob@proivrc.com

  • Admin
  • 1,640 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain

Posted 21 August 2000 - 07:48 AM

Thanks for the explanation, any idea on how to make the paging area go back to the old way, like Wim wants it?

I actually have a bug open with PROIV support about the flickering and no one has told me about 'FlickerFree'. I cannot find another setting that has replaced this setting either. Shouldn't PROIV just 'not flicker' rather that having to set a flag to say 'don't flicker'. Who would want it to Flicker?

I don't think that it is limited to 'certain' graphics drivers as I havn't yet found a windows systems that does not flicker. Unless it was a very simple system or very few graphics were used.

Rob D

#13 Guest_Tackline_*

Guest_Tackline_*
  • Guests

Posted 22 August 2000 - 09:55 PM

Trawling my memory I think the FlickerFree option has changed it's name and sence to become OptimizePaint. Anyway, I no longer work for PROIV, or anyone else for that matter

I think the point of the option is that you can have flickering without paint problems, or no flickering and run the possibility of problems. Paint problems are not exactly unusual under Windows. For instance: not even Microsoft programs handle the palette properly (I think it may be a theoretical impossibility), Sun's JRE can produce mouse droppings with soft cursors and Java2 programs can easily stall their graphics pipeline.

#14 Rob Donovan

Rob Donovan

    rob@proivrc.com

  • Admin
  • 1,640 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain

Posted 22 August 2000 - 10:05 PM

Looked for the OptimizePaint flag counld not find it in client 204 Kernel 211

I get your point about painting but I have not really seen any decent windows applications that flicker quite so much as PROIV.
The thing that gets to me is that there was an option to get rid of the Flickering and it was not made public information. Why have it if you dont tell your users?

Thanks for your info.

Rob D

#15 Joseph Serra

Joseph Serra

    Advanced

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 93 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 23 August 2000 - 09:34 AM

It would be nice to have a official response on this issue
from ProIV. It seems non-sensical for a setting which
makes ProIV Gui display more fluidly, to be kept secret.

Perhaps ProIV has a legitimate reason for this. If they
have it would be nice to know what it is.



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users